The Tainan Confucius Temple was built in 1665 and has been renovated and expanded many times since then. There were several buildings, each with a somewhat different purpose.
The Wenchang Pavilion is a very unique three story building. The first floor is square, the second floor is round, and the third level is octagonal. The building is dedicated to the god of education and students often came here before an exam to pray.
The Edification Hall is where students came to study Confucian classics.
Just outside is a symbolic doorway called the gate of rite. The path leading through the gate is the route of righteousness. Only a person of good character can take the path and pass through the gate.
In the very center of the complex is a small building that is the temple itself. Although the building itself was very simple, there were interesting ceramic tiled figures on the roof.